WhatsApp explains what happens if you don’t accept its new privacy policy

0

WhatsApp has detailed what will occur to customers who don’t accept its new privacy policy in an FAQ on its website. Starting May fifteenth, its performance will change into extra restricted, and customers will now not have the ability to ship or learn messages from the app. They’ll nonetheless have the ability to obtain calls and notifications, however it will solely be doable for a “short time.” Speaking to TechCrunch, the corporate confirmed this era will final a number of weeks.

The new privacy policy has been controversial amongst some customers, who fear that it permits WhatsApp to share their personal messages with its guardian firm Facebook. However, messages between people on WhatsApp are end-to-end encrypted, so solely their recipients can see their contents. What the new privacy policy pertains to is messages despatched to companies, which can be saved on Facebook servers and whose knowledge could also be used for promoting. WhatsApp has shared some private info, like cellphone numbers, with Facebook since 2016.

In response to the outcry, WhatsApp introduced it could delay the introduction of the new privacy policy, which was initially due to enter impact on February eighth. Last week, WhatsApp outlined how it could be explaining the new privacy policy to its customers, in an effort that features a banner contained in the app with its rationalization of the new policy.

The Facebook-owned messaging service says that it gained’t delete any accounts that haven’t accepted the new phrases on May fifteenth, and that customers will nonetheless have the ability to accept the new privacy policy after that date. However, it cautions that it generally deletes accounts after they’re inactive for 120 days.

FOLLOW us ON GOOGLE NEWS

 

Source

Leave a comment