Tom Brady needs several more Super Bowl rings to catch these NHL champions


Congratulations to Tom Brady: The Buccaneers quarterback gained his seventh Super Bowl ring after Tampa Bay beat the Chiefs 31-9 in Super Bowl 55.

Of course, most are anointing Brady the best champion with two arms encumbered with rings. With his seventh ring, Brady has collected probably the most championships within the NFL — surpassing each league franchise’s complete by himself. Brady, although, is not the one man who has collected a handful of championship jewellery.

For instance, former NBA participant Robert Horry tweeted Brady to congratulate him for becoming a member of the “7 Chip Club” following Brady’s historic win. Horry is considered one of simply 9 NBA gamers to have at the least seven titles to their title.

MORE: Tom Brady haters have formally run out of arguments

In the NHL, there are 9 guys who’ve lifted Lord Stanley’s Cup at the least seven occasions, with Henri Richard topping the record: “The Pocket Rocket” has 11 Stanley Cups, all gained with Montreal between 1956 and 1973. That consists of 5 straight between 1956 and 1960.

There are additionally a number of guys who’ve seven or more ‘chips when combining their Cups gained as a participant after which a coach; Al Arbour’s seven (three as a participant and 4 as a coach with the Islanders); Larry Robinson, who received No. 10 in 2019 with the Blues (six with the Canadiens as a participant and three as a coach with the Devils); or Jacques Lemaire’s 9 (eight as a participant with the Canadiens and one because the Devils’ bench boss in 1995).

There’s additionally teaching legend Scotty Bowman, who gained 9 Cups between the Canadiens, Penguins and Red Wings.

NHL gamers with at the least seven Stanley Cups

Player Stanley Cups Team (Years)
Henri Richard 11 Canadiens (1956-60, 1965-66, 1968-69, 1971, 1973)
Jean Beliveau 10 Canadiens (1956-60, 1965-66, 1968-69, 1971)
Yvan Cournoyer 10 Canadiens (1965-66, 1968-69, 1971, 1973, 1976-1979)
Claude Provost 9 Canadiens (1956-60, 1965-66, 1968-69)
Maurice Richard 8 Canadiens (1944, 1946, 1953, 1956-60)
Red Kelly 8 Red Wings (1950, 1952, 1954-55), Maple Leafs (1962-64, 1967)
Jacques Lemaire 8 Canadiens (1968-69, 1971, 1973, 1976-79)
Serge Savard 8 Canadiens (1968-69, 1971, 1973, 1976-79)
Jean-Guy Talbot 7 Canadiens (1956-60, 1965-66)




Leave a comment