SA vs PAK: He Was Asking A Fielder To Back Up, Says Tabraiz Shamsi In Defence Of Quinton De Kock After Run Out Controversy

0




While many lashed out at Quinton de Kock for his function within the controversial run-out of Pakistan opening batsman Fakhar Zaman within the second ODI on Sunday, South Africa spinner Tabraiz Shamsi on Monday defended the wicket-keeper. Zaman’s valiant 193-run knock was ended off the primary ball of the ultimate over as a direct hit from Aiden Markram from long-off caught him wanting his crease. The run-out triggered a debate as wicket-keeper de Kock appeared to gesture that the throw from Markram could be going to the non-striker’s finish.

Looking at this gesture, Zaman slowed down as he thought the throw wouldn’t be coming at his finish, however Markram’s throw took him without warning.

Shamsi mentioned de Kock was asking the fielder to again up on the non-striker’s finish. The spinner additionally identified Zaman’s fault because the batsman had circled to see the ball as a substitute of finishing the run.

“Just 2 clarify. QDK was NOT speaking 2 or pointing at the batsman, he was asking a fielder to back up at the non strikers end,” Shamsi tweeted.

“Not Quinnys fault the batman turned around 2 see instead of completing the run safely which he should have done. Stop the hate n Leave QDK alone,” he added.

After the incident Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) took to Twitter to elucidate the legislation, saying it’s as much as the umpire to resolve whether or not the act of the fielder to distract the batter was willful or not.

“Law 41.5.1 states: “It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to aim, by phrase or motion, to distract, deceive or hinder both batsman after the striker has acquired the ball,”” MCC tweeted.

In one other tweet, MCC mentioned: “The Law is clear, with the offence being an ATTEMPT to deceive, rather than the batsman actually being deceived. It’s up to the umpires to decide if there was such an attempt. If so, then it’s Not out, 5 Penalty runs + the 2 they ran, and batsmen choose who faces next ball.”

Promoted

Zaman had additionally mentioned that de Kock made no mistake and it was solely his fault that he was discovered wanting the crease.

“The fault was mine as I was too busy looking out for Haris Rauf at the other end as I felt he’d started off a little late from his crease, so I thought he was in trouble. The rest is up to the match referee, but I don’t think it’s Quinton’s fault,” ESPNcricinfo quoted Zaman as saying.

Topics talked about on this article

FOLLOW us ON GOOGLE NEWS

 

Source

Comments
Loading...